Tuesday, May 26, 2020

My Kind of People

~ I received no compensation and opinions are 100% my own or my family. ~



Synopsis:  From Lisa Duffy, the beloved author of The Salt House and This Is Home, comes My Kind of People, a profound novel about the power of community and a small town’s long-buried secrets as a group of New England islanders rally around a recently orphaned girl.

On Ichabod Island, a jagged strip of land thirteen miles off the coast of Massachusetts, ten-year-old Sky becomes an orphan for the second time after a tragic accident claims the lives of her adoptive parents. Grieving the death of his best friends, Leo’s life is turned upside down when he finds himself the guardian of young Sky. Back on the island and struggling to balance his new responsibilities and his marriage to his husband, Leo is supported by a powerful community of neighbors, many of them harboring secrets of their own.

Maggie, who helps with Sky’s childcare, has hit a breaking point with her police chief husband, who becomes embroiled in a local scandal. Her best friend Agnes, the island busybody, invites Sky’s estranged grandmother to stay for the summer, straining already precarious relationships. Their neighbor Joe secretly knows about issues between Sky’s adoptive parents in the months leading up to their accident, and struggles with keeping this to himself. And among them all is a mysterious woman, drawn to Ichabod to fulfill a dying wish.

Emotionally complex, deeply moving, and perfect for fans of Celeste Ng, Mary Beth Keane, and Ann Leary, My Kind of People is a riveting, impassioned, acutely sensitive novel about the resilience of community and what unites us all in the face of tragedy.


One (or more) Sentence Summary:  What a wonderful story about a small island community and love.  I really like all the characters in the book and how the twists of their pasts impacted their current day life.  Absolutely loved the ending (no spoiler alert)!  My favorite Lisa Duffy book so far!

Would I Read Other Books by the Author:  I have read This is Home and The Salt House.  I enjoyed them both!



Lisa Duffy is the author of The Salt House, named by Real Simple as a Best Book of the Month upon its June release, as well asBustle’s 17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017 and This Is Home, a favorite book club pick. Lisa received her MFA in creative writing from the University of Massachusetts. Her writing can be found in numerous publications, including Writer’s Digest. She lives in the Boston area with her husband and three children. My Kind of People is her third novel.

MY KIND OF PEOPLE By Lisa Duffy
Atria Books | On Sale: May 12, 2020 | ISBN: 978-1-9821-3715-1 | $17.00

Share/Bookmark

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.